2017 longlists for prestigious CILIP Carnegie and CILIP Kate Greenaway Medals announced

February 16, 2017

Share this story

The longlists for the CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals – the UK’s oldest and most prestigious children’s book awards – have been announced today. The 2017 awards are a special event, coinciding with the 80th and 60th anniversaries of the CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals respectively. The Trust is delighted to be supporting the awards.

The 20-strong longlist for this year’s Carnegie Medal sees the late Mal Peet’s final novel Beck (completed by Meg Rosoff) competing against debut authors M.G. Leonard and Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock and previous Carnegie Medal winners Philip Reeve and Frank Cottrell Boyce. While from the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal long list, Children’s Laureate Chris Riddell could be in the running to win an historic fourth Medal.

Those longlisted will be vying to join the pantheon of past winners, from authors Philip Pullman, Richard Adams, Anne Fine, Sarah Crossan, Arthur Ransome and C.S Lewis in the Carnegie, to illustrators Quentin Blake, Anthony Browne, Helen Oxenbury, Janet Ahlberg, Jon Klassen and Shirley Hughes in the Kate Greenaway.

The shortlists for both the CILIP Carnegie Medal and the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal 2017 will be announced on Thursday 16th March, with the winners being announced on Monday 19th June at a special daytime event at RIBA in central London. The winners will each receive £500 worth of books to donate to their local library, a specially commissioned golden medal and a £5,000 Colin Mears Award cash prize.

Read the full longlist at http://www.carnegiegreenaway.org.uk/press.php

Hashtags: #Bestchildrensbooks #ckg2017

About the CILIP Carnegie Medal and CILIP Kate Greenaway Medals

The CILIP Carnegie Medal was established in memory of the Carnegie UK Trust’s founder, Scottish-born philanthropist Andrew Carnegie. It is awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book for children and young people. The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal is named after the popular nineteenth century artist known for her fine children’s illustrations and design. It is awarded to a distinguished illustrator of a children’s book. These are the only children’s books awards judged by a panel of professional librarians.